No Sleep Till Football

Like Brooklyn Except It's Football

NCAA Tournament Picks!

I left all of my picks at work so I can’t name them game for game, but I will give my Final 4, Championship Game and eventual winner.

Final Four = Memphis, Kentucky, Ohio St., Kansas

Championship Game = Ohio St., Kentucky

2012 NCAA Tournament Champion = Ohio St.

I’ll post my individual picks tomorrow, but here is how the regions broke down for me.

SOUTH REGION: It’s been Kentucky & everyone else this season. Sure they lost on a last second shot to Indiana early in the year. Vanderbilt upset them in the SEC tournament. It doesn’t matter. The Wildcats are 32-2 and have pretty much hammered everyone they’ve played save the two losses. I like the possibility of Baylor playing Kentucky in the Elite 8 to give UK a game, but I don’t think it matters.

WEST REGION: There are going to be upsets in the NCAA Tournament. The last few years have seen a plethora of them and you simply never see all four #1 seeds make it to the Final 4. Here I have Michigan St. going down early. I know Michigan St. is on a tremendous run coming off a Big 10 tournament championship, but Memphis is ranked #9 in the nation according to Ken Pomeroy making them more of a #2 seed than a #8! They are the most under-seeded team in the tournament and the Michigan St./Memphis matchup is more like a regional final than a 2nd round game. St. Louis won’t be easy for Memphis, but I think the Tigers gets by. From that point I think Missouri winds up taking on Memphis in the Regional Final, but if Josh Pastner and company have gotten that far, they seal the deal and head to New Orleans. Remember that Pomeroy ranks Missouri at #8 so a game against Memphis is evenly matched.

EAST REGION: Without Fab Melo the Orange are done and won’t make it that far. Plus Jim Boeheim has a history of not doing too well in the tournament outside of his national championship team led by Carmelo Anthony. Their zone defense will give teams trouble, but I think Syracuse winds up losing to Vanderbilt. On the other side of the bracket is Ohio St. who I think rolls. The team is built to win in the tournament and it’s a veteran experienced team. The Buckeyes certainly need guys like Aaron Craft and Jared Sullinger to play big, but I think they can and will. Ohio St. is the best team in the bracket and they’ll get it done.

MIDWEST REGION: I will note that this region holds my biggest upset as I have #13 Belmont upsetting #4 Georgetown. As far as the region champion, I’ll take Kansas. The Jayhawks have had a great season to date, and I think they’ll get by North Carolina. The Tar Heels have a way of not showing up at certain times, and I simply can’t see them getting out of the region because the final will be played in St. Louis which will essentially be a home game for Kansas. If UNC had a different region I might give the Tar Heels and edge here, but with a couple of evenly matched teams, I’ll guess Kansas takes it home in a close game because of home court advantage.

KENTUCKY over MEMPHIS: Calipari isn’t going to let the student beat the teacher. I have Memphis playing the role of Cinderella, but Calipari is getting closer and closer to winning a championship. He takes another step this year by actually getting to the finals.

OHIO ST. over KANSAS: To a degree it’s curious how Ohio St. is “only” 27-7. I love all their players. Jared Sullinger, William Buford, Deshaun Thomas, Aaron Craft, Lenzelle Smith and Evan Ravenel. You almost get the feeling that maybe Ohio St. is gearing up for a serious tournament run by really saving the best for last.

CHAMPIONSHIP GAME: OHIO ST. over KENTUCKY

The problem with Kentucky in the SEC Championship game is that teams forced them to shoot from outside and Kentucky simply isn’t a good shooting team. With the big bodies of Sullinger, Thomas, and Buford, my guess is that you see Ohio St. take guys like Anthony Davis, Michael Kidd-Gilchrist & Terrence Jones out of the game which is exactly what Indiana did to the Wildcats in Bloomington back in December. Ohio St.’s perimeter defense will be good enough and Aaron Craft is a better perimeter defender than what the Hoosiers showed which led to Marquis Teague going off to practically pull out a win for Kentucky against Indiana. We saw this a couple years ago against West Virginia. We saw it last year when Kentucky played Connecticut. We saw it a week ago when UK played Vanderbilt. Calipari is getting closer and closer, but he’s got to figure out a way to keep some of this high profile recruits on campus longer than a single season so they can become better shooters while in Lexington instead of becoming better shooters while playing in the NBA.

As I stated above with Ohio St., there really isn’t a weakness to the team. It’s a bit puzzling they haven’t been more dominating than they could have been this year, but I think the brackets set up right for them to make a huge push which will earn the Buckeyes a national championship.

March 15, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

