No Sleep Till Football

Like Brooklyn Except It's Football

2010 Preseason Top-15

I’ll do a more advanced writeup soon, but I wanted to draw your attention to the sidebar where there appears a Preseason Power-15! I’ll opine about how I came to those particular rankings in a future post, but I had been working on the preseason rankings for a few days and wanted to share them even if I didn’t have a significant analysis to contribute at this time. I hope this gets some discussion going! I can’t wait for football to start!

July 13, 2010 - Posted by | Power 15, Previews

2 Comments »

  1. It looks like you are going for shock value. Boise State and TCU in preseason top 5? I look forward to the analysis.

    Big Timber

    Comment by Anonymous | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. The analysis is up. I don't see how you keep them both out of the top-5.

    Boise is coming off a 14-0 season in which they finished #3 in the nation. They return 20 starters and lose 5 lettermen while returning 55! On paper they are better than last season if experience counts for anything so where do they go from #3?

    TCU is much the same way. They don't have 20 starters back but they do have 16 back including 9 on offense. They lose Washington & Hughes on D but everyone else is back from a 12-1 squad who lost only to Boise St. Gary Patterson can downright coach a defense.

    It's certainly an odd top-5, but when I compared the teams, I couldn't get BSU & TCU out of the top 5.

    Unless the argument is “Well, they aren't AQ schools” then there isn't 5 teams in the nation better than the are and even that argument is tenous.

    The analysis goes more in depth with it. I'm not really a big fan of college football when those 2 are top-5 teams, but this seems like an odd year.

    My argument is that college football really screwed Boise & TCU over last season. If those teams play BCS schools in a bowl last season and get jacked then they aren't top-10 teams. If they win those games then they deserve to be here.

    Instead, we don't know so Boise & TCU are going to force the issue.

    You are right. It's odd.

    Comment by College Football Mafia | July 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

