No Sleep Till Football

Like Brooklyn Except It's Football

John Piper Tackles The Ethics of Ayn Rand

When I was a junior in high school we had a scholarship competition based on Ayn Rand‘s novel The Fountainhead. I was only 16 at the time so I can definitely say I’d read the book differently now, but I finished it and it was one of the best books I’ve ever read. I’ve started reading Atlas Shrugged many times, but each time I’ve tried to read it, I feel as if I cannot give it the attention it deserves. Ever since reading The Fountainhead, I’ve become a huge Ayn Rand fan. Obviously I know a lot more about her now and obviously I believe in practically everything she believes in except religion. Being a dyed in the wool 5-point Calvinist, Rand & I have our differences.

I found this article that was written by John Piper entitled The Ethics of Ayn Rand detailing Rand’s life & philosophy from a Christian Hedonist’s perspective. It’s a long article, but well worth the read. If you are a fan of both Rand & Piper I hope you enjoy it.

February 12, 2010 - Posted by | Ayn Rand, Christianity, John Piper

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

