No Sleep Till Football

Like Brooklyn Except It's Football

Martyrdom

John Piper had this on this Twitter account awhile back and I’ve been meaning to say something about it.

Waiting. How long must Jesus’ martyrs wait for vindication? ‘Til the full number planned by God are killed (Revelation 6:11).

It got me to thinking that anyone believes that it is God’s will to undergo martyrdom, then the kingdom of heaven will be waiting until that death arrives. I’ve always thought it interesting to note that God cannot come back to the Earth to set up his kingdom until everyone who He destined to come to the faith has, and that the full number of martyrs have been killed.

I also take great comfort that God plans martyrdom. Thank Him for not making it a random outcome for the unlucky, yet instead a preordained honor to die in His name.

So we are all waiting.

Speaking of martyrdom and missionaries, I’m been a little slow in my Amy Carmichael reading. I’m getting sidetracked by F. Scott Fitzgerald’s Tender is the Night. Reading a book like Tender is the Night is tough because it really does send me off on the path of wanting to be a psychiatrist. It I was going for interesting things only, I’d hands down go into psychiatry.

The one problem I have with it is that I’m not sure how it reconciles for living a life for Christ. Then again, Jesus cast out the demons from the man they called Legion. In a sense, you could easily argue that Christ was not only the great physician, but also the great psychiatrist as that could easily be interpreted as a man suffering from schizophrenia who Christ healed by sending the demons into a herd of pigs.

I don’t know though. Somehow I can’t reconcile it. If I can at some point, then I’d choose to be a shrink without question. We’ll see how that progresses for me.

December 28, 2009 - Posted by | Christianity

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

