No Sleep Till Football

Like Brooklyn Except It's Football

My Damascus Road

Acts 9:3-5 states:

As he jouneyed he came near Damascus, and suddenly a light shone around him from heaven. Then he fell to the ground and heard a voice saying to him, “Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting Me?”

And he said, “Who are you Lord?”

Then the Lord said, “I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting. It is hard for you to kick against the goads.” (emphasis mine)

I too have felt the difficulties of kicking against the goads. I love to write and I will continue to do so, but after today (Christmas) I will no longer be following sports of any kind for an entire year. That’s it baby! I wrote about baseball for 5+ years and I thought maybe I was getting burned out so I thought it would be fun to switch topics. Instead I simply felt like I was kicking harder.

Over the past few months I’ve been feeling a distinct notion that I need to wash myself of the world. I’m giving up sports for at least from now until 2011. If I feel like it goes OK, maybe I’ll just forsake it entirely.

I’ll continue to write, but it’ll mostly be about book reviews, medicine & christianity. We’ll see how it goes. I think the next year will be somewhat of a spiritual journey for me and I have a lot of things in store of what I’d like to accomplish. Hopefully I’ll write some of it here! I really want to focus on making my Russian better. It’s a language I’ve been trying to learn the last couple of months. I also have been training in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and would really like to have that training take a step forward. We’ll see.

The Mafia will still be here, but the topics are going to vary quite a bit! Stick around.

December 25, 2009 - Posted by | Christianity

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

