No Sleep Till Football

Like Brooklyn Except It's Football

1st Annual CFB All-American Team

With the bowl season underway I thought I would get my 1st ever All-Ameican team out in the open! These selections are of course weighted based on the games that I saw this season. If I left out certain players, it’s possible I didn’t see enough of them to make an impression. I’m only going to do one team. Here are the best of the best.

2009 College Football Mafia’s All-American Offensive Unit

QB-Tim Tebow-SR-Florida
RB-Mark Ingram-SO-Alabama
RB-Toby Gerhart-SR-Stanford
WR-Mardy Gilyard-SR-Cincinnati
WR-Golden Tate-JR-Notre Dame
TE-Dennis Pitta-SR-BYU
OT-Russell Okung-JR-Oklahoma St.
OT-Trent Williams-SR-Oklahoma
OG-Brandon Carter-SR-Texas Tech
OT-Bryan Bulaga-JR-Iowa
OC-Steve Wisniewski-JR-Penn St.
PK-Lane Tiffin-SR-Alabama
KR-C.J. Spiller-SR-Clemson

Thoughts: Not a popular pick this season, but at the end of the day if you could pick one QB to lead your team to a championship this season who would it be? Maybe you could go Sam Bradford, but he was injured. Maybe Jimmy Claussen, but Notre Dame was 6-6. Nope I’m sticking with Tebow. He had a great season statistically and don’t forget that Florida finished the year 12-1 with their only loss coming to Alabama. The Tide are legitimately great so I can’t penalize Tebow that much. Will he be a great NFL QB? Will he be an NFL QB at all? Who knows, but as collegians go, it’s almost impossible to go against Tebow and his will to win……………..I wanted to get LaMichael James in here but how can you go with anyone at RB other than Gerhart & Ingram……………..Gilyard & Tate were as good as it got for me this year with the wideouts. I thought Jonathan Baldwin & Demaryius Thomas should be in the discussion, but Thomas simply didn’t get used enough in the triple option set at Georgia Tech while Baldwin was probably just a hair behind Gilyard & Tate. Golden Tate was probably the best WR in football this season. If Michael Floyd would have stayed healthy you could have easily made a case that the two best wideouts in football played in South Bend………..Dennis Pitta might be a surprise pick at TE, but I got to see BYU on three occassions and I was impressed with Pitta each time. It’s hard to overlook Aaron Hernandez here, but it seemed like everytime BYU needed 8-9 yards, Max Hall would find Pitta over the middle for 10-12………..The O-Line is made up of guys who I thought made plays or stick out in my memory. Bulaga & Wisniewski really stick out probably because I saw a lot of Big 10 games. Brandon Carter sticks out that way too. Trent Williams & Russell Okung were great protecting the blindsides of Landry Jones & Zac Robinson respectively. Both Oklahoma & Oklahoma St. dealt with massive problems on offense, but left tackle wasn’t one of them………Leigh Tiffin was a no brainer for me as was CJ Spiller. Spiller had a great season and I was glad to find a way to get him on my All-American team. For you Kai Forbath fans, I simply didn’t see UCLA as much as I saw Alabama.

2009 College Football Mafia’s All American Team Defensive Unit

DE-Jerry Hughes-SR-TCU
DT-Ndamukong Suh-SR-Nebraska
DT-Terrance Cody-SR-Alabama
DE-Derrick Morgan-JR-Georgia Tech
LB-Rolando McClain-JR-Alabama
LB-Eric Norwood-SR-South Carolina
LB-Novarro Bowman-JR-Penn St.
S-Taylor Mays-SR-USC
S-Eric Berry-JR-Tennessee
CB-Joe Haden-JR-Florida
CB-Javier Arenas-SR-Alabama
P-Drew Butler-SO-Georgia
PR-Damian Williams-JR-USC

Thoughts: The D-Line picks were obvious. There were some guys left out like Gerald McCoy & Greg Romeus who left an impression on me, but these 4 guys were the absolute best defensive lineman in the nation this year in my opinion. The front-4 here were the easiest picks for me………..LB was fairly easy too. Novarro Bowman isn’t a guy that is getting much play as a 1st team All-American. Neither is Eric Norwood, but these guys were fantastic in the games I watched. Rolando McClain can easily say he was the best defensive player in the nation not named Ndamukong Suh, but I thought Norwood & Bowman belonged on the 1st team. Some people aren’t even giving Norwood All-American consideration which I think is a joke. I watched a lot of Big 10 games so Greg Jones & Pat Angerer come to mind, but neither had the impact I thought Bowman or Norwood had. One thing I like about this trio of LBs is how I would use them. Norwood is a no-doubt MLB while McClain is an obvious SLB with Bowman being the WLB. It fits well………..The secondary was pretty obvious too. The one spot I had trouble with was the last CB spot that I had down to Arenas and Arizona CB Trevin Wade. What put me over the top was Arenas’ interception of the Tebow pass in the SEC Championship game. That’s pretty arbitrary, but put Arenas over the top……………..I’m trying to pay more attention to special teams, but all I really think about when watching collegiate punters is how much worse they are than their NFL counterparts. Drew Butler stands out. Like Spiller, I’m glad to get Damian Williams on the team as a punt returner. He’s a pretty special player and is deserving.

This was fun. Hopefully I’ll be around to do the 2010 version!

December 18, 2009 - Posted by | All Americans

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

